SC Governor’s Awards for the Arts 50th Anniversary

The South Carolina Arts Commission is extremely proud of its role in recognizing our state’s most accomplished artists and advocates with the Governor’s Awards for the Arts each year. The South Carolina Arts Commission, the sole presenter of the Governor’s Awards for the Arts, initiated a film project telling the story of the awards for their 50th anniversary. The result was nine vignettes that look at South Carolina arts, culture, and history through the eyes of living, high-profile South Carolina artists who have received the award.  They are: John Acorn, Wilfred Delphin, Mary Jackson, Glenis Redmond, Tom Stanley, William Starrett, Leo Twiggs, Sam Wang and Cecil Williams.
See the video here: www.scetv.org/watch/scetv-specials. Glenis Redmond portion begins at 45:17 on the timeline.